ATTORNEYS ASSISTING CLIENTS WITH
DEFENDING SEXUAL ASSAULT CRIMES IN VIRGINIA
There are many different sexual assault laws in Virginia. Violate any one of them and there is a distinct possibility that you or a loved one may go to jail. Even a simple Virginia misdemeanor sexual assault violation can result in jail time.
However, just because a person is accused of a sex crime such as sexual assault in Virginia does not mean that they are guilty of the charge nor does it mean they are going to jail if they obtain the right type of defense.
In West Virginia, there are various assault and rape laws that are recorded under the state’s sexual offense statutes. Punishments run in seriousness in view of the crime happened, for example, regardless of whether intercourse or sexual contact, the level of aggressiveness utilized, and the age of the casualty.
For instance, compelling someone else to have intercourse is second-degree rape and deserving of up to 5 years in jail. In any case, if a dangerous weapon, for example, a firearm or blade was utilized, it is first-degree rape and deserving of up to 35 years in jail. If the weapon using culprit was 18 years old or more found and the person in casualty was under 12 years old, it is deserving of up to 100 years in jail. This penalty is a concise outline of West Virginia’s assault and rape laws.
To begin with first-degree rape:
Having someone else to engage in sexual relations through utilization of a dangerous weapon or by causing genuine and potential damage is one kind of offense demanding heavy penalties.
A man who is 14 years old or tougher who engages in sexual relations with a man less than 12 years old who isn’t their life partner is also included in rape.
Compelling someone else to engage in sexual relations without their approval or engaging in sexual relations with a man who is physically powerless and unequipped for the cause. A man 16 years old or more established who has intercourse with a minor under 16 years old, who isn’t their life partner, and who is no less than 4 years more youthful than the culprit
In the first place degree sexual assault:
Law states that Driving someone else to have sexual contact without their consent and having sexual contact with a man who is physically powerless and unequipped for approval, a man who is 14 years old or more who has sexual contact with a man under 12 years old.
Penalties for these offenses:
To begin with, a degree of sexual harassment is a lawful offense deserving of up to 35 years in jail and up to $10,000 in fines. In the event that the culprit was 18 years old or more established and the casualty was under 12 years old, it is deserving of up to 100 years in jail and up to $25,000 in fines.
Second-degree rape and first-degree sexual assaults are lawful offenses deserving of up to 5 years in jail and up to $10,000 in fines. For first-degree sexual assault laws, if the culprit was 18 years old or more established and the casualty was under 12 years old, the crime is deserving of up to 25 years in jail and up to $5,000 in fines. Second-degree sexual mishandle is a crime deserving of up to 1 year in jail and up to $500 in fines. Third-degree sexual assault is a crime deserving of up to 90 days in jail and up to $500 in fines.